2017 in Review

2017A Year in Review

Well, it’s here! The last day of the year has arrived and sweet readers, I do hope your year was filled with sweet memories and many blessings. As 2018 approaches, I have been thinking much about being more intentional and living with more focus to create a fuller life. That my friends will be revealed through this little blog and I’m excited to share it all with you. Suffice to say, I’ve working on goals, words, ideas, projects, etc. The box begins to unwrap soon so I do hope you’ll stay tuned. But since today is it to finish the books on 2017, I wanted to share a few favorites with you. Here goes…

JANUARY 2017

I started the year off reading this little devotional. It was a perfect read and I may jut have to pull it back out again to start 2018.

DSC_3789

These were a few of my favorite looks. Classic style all the way. Why do venture away from it? I’m never as comfortable when I’m trying to dress like someone else. Maybe I’ll remember this lesson in 2018 and dress like me…like my momma taught me.

januarylooksFEBRUARY 2017

Whitney and I did a Create28 again. These were my favorite looks.

RecapCollageMy hubby and I went to Gulf Shores, Alabama for quick weekend trip. We met up with some favorite people from my growing up years in Iowa.

IMG_4784

I participated in the #thefierce50 campaign with bloggers over 50.

16716084_1311831085550859_5943591680323065161_o

MARCH 2017

I wrote a 10 day devotional. It was something I always wanted to do. I think I’ll do it again…at least that’s the plan.

This is starting on April 1st. 10 days of a short devotional study sent to your inbox. This is something I've always wanted to do and 2017 I've decided to pursue goals and be brave. Are you interested? DM your email address and I'll include you.  #brave #bibledaily #theword #goals #2017.
This is starting on April 1st. 10 days of a short devotional study sent to your inbox. This is something I’ve always wanted to do and 2017 I’ve decided to pursue goals and be brave. Are you interested? DM your email address and I’ll include you. #brave #bibledaily #theword #goals #2017.

I also tried bangs and I decided I have a love/hate relationship with them. Not sure if I’m going back or forward with them.

This happened yesterday and was long overdue. #highlights #highlightshair  #newcuthair #banges #hairstyles #haircolor #hairoverhaul #styleover40
This happened yesterday and was long overdue. #highlights #highlightshair #newcuthair #banges #hairstyles #haircolor #hairoverhaul #styleover40

APRIL 2017

I participated in the Fierce 50 Follow Friday with a bunch of lovely blogging ladies who are in that age bracket of 50+.

Fierce 50 Copy Graphic (10)

I also did a lot of Beachbody workouts and drank my weight in Shakeology.

DSC_0159

MAY 2017

It wa a slow month for blogging. I was struggling but a Mother’s Day Brunch was good for my heart.

mdb_banner

JUNE 2017

Another slow and hard month for me. We were trying to close on one house and get our down payment back on another. I was mentally exhausted. Turns out while I was out of the office closing on our house all of our upper management was out on administrative leave. My heart was heavy.

heart

Moving day…we did all ourselves. My hubby said I was a tough old broad. That’s a compliment in my family. Took a toll on me though. I’ve never been so exhausted!

rp_IMG_5386-e1503972689409.jpg

JULY 2017

Took a mini life assessment in July. Was trying to get my mojo back after a couple of difficult months of stress.

looking back & looking ahead

AUGUST 2017

A month of workouts…everyday and sometimes twice a day. Proved to myself I could do it!

IMG_5599

SEPTEMBER 2017

These looks were well received on the blog.

navy floral

I also participated in the Common Threads Challenge.

banner-complete

This lovely daughter of mine turned 30! Wow, just WOW! How did that happen?!

Screen Shot 2017-09-28 at 12.00.30 PM

OCTOBER 2017

Went on my first wine tasting. It is definitely a taste I’ll have to learn to love but I’m willing to try.

IMG_6342

I definitely blogged more about life, which is what I truly enjoy.

Life

NOVEMBER 2017

I tried this awesome skin care from Saraghae. Really a fab 5-Step Routine that I’m still using everyday.

IMG_6490

Shared about my trip home in Septebmer and this house. Grandma’s house that holds so many memories for my family.

grandma's house

DECEMBER 2017

Finally was able to bust out the winter coat. This was my favorite look of the month.

camo coat

That’s the wrap on 2017 from the blog. Hope you enjoyed the trip down memory lane with me. Oh, I think it’s so fun to look back and be reminded of the year.

Now for looking ahead. There’s one little change I want to incorporate into 2018:

I would like to be more intentional is connecting with people. I truly enjoy writing little notes and encouraging people espcially when they are down. Do you want to receive a snail mail note from me? Send me an email at astylishfit@gmail.com with your address and sometime this year you’ll receive that note from me. That’s one way to start being intentional!

Be blessed ~ Carrie

Where I’m linking up.

 

 

  • shootingstarsmag
    It looks like you had an overall good year, though sorry for the stress and down moments. Those are never fun! I love reading about people's lives on their blog and that's something I want to bring into mine MORE in 2018. -Lauren www.shootingstarsmag.net
    • Lauren, I think I have enjoyed blogging more once I started to share more of myself and not just about style. Go for it, friend!
  • I always love looking back at the year---it always reminds me of the good events and people that i met!! Happy 2018 XOXO Jodie www.jtouchofstyle.com
    • Happy 2018 to you, Jodie! I agree that a look back is so good.
  • Stories of Our Boys
    Looks like a great yeAr. I love the bangs!
    • Thank you! I'm trying to decide if I should keep the bangs or grow them.
  • I so admire your passion for life and fitness and how devoted you are to your faith. I also think you knock it out of the park with the bangs!! xo
    • Thank you, sweet friend! So glad you stopped by as I know your days are full!
  • Chloe
    Happy New Year you packed a lot in with highs and lows last year. I couldn’t do the gym everyday and love your winter coat #DreamTeam
  • Moonsomnia
    What a great post, it was definitely a busy year for you. I wish you all the best in 2018 and good luck on your goals to connect with people #BloggerClubUK
  • Jean | DelightfulRepast.com
    Carrie, I loved this post! And I spotted a couple I missed and will look at now. "Tough old broad" -- I love that that's a compliment in your family! Wishing you a wonderful 2018.
  • Lynda E
    Thanks so much for sharing your year in review with Party in Your PJs! The before, during and after of selling a house and movie is stressful like nothing else! Sounds like you came through it like a champ!
  • Your daughter is so beautiful! And I love this wrap-up that incorporates a little bit of everything! Can you believe it's been almost a year since Create28?! Do be honest, I don't know that I could do another one. There's no way I could take that many outfit pictures. Haha.